RSS YouTube Flickr Twitter Facebook Instagram
la Biennale di Venezia
Main Visual Entry Page Architettura EN (new)



1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

The selection of participants for this year’s Biennale evolved in response to the Common Ground theme. We began with a desire to emphasise shared ideas over individual authorship, and realised that this required us to initiate dialogues rather simply make a selection of individuals. We began by asking a limited group of architects to develop ideas that might lead to further invitations: everyone was asked to propose a project along with a dialogue that reacted to the theme and showed architecture in its context of influence and affinity, history and language, city and culture.
The final list of contributors demonstrates a rich culture of difference rather than a selection of edited and promoted positions. We want to emphasise the common ground that the profession shares, notwithstanding the apparent diversity of today’s architectural production. The sharing of differences is critical to the idea of an architectural culture.
David Chipperfield


1.      Group:
13178 Moran Street
Ellie Abrons/Adam Fure
Ann Arbor, USA
Meredith Miller
Ann Arbor, USA
Thom Moran
Ann Arbor, USA
Catie Newell
Ann Arbor, USA
Rosalyne Shieh and Troy Schaum
Ann Arbor and Houston, USA
2.      40, 000 Hours
Architecture Schools
Aalborg Universitet,Berlage Institute, Det Kongelige Danske Kunstakademi,Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Toulouse, Ecole Spéciale d’Architecture Paris Belleville, Escuela Politécnica Superior – Universidad Ceu San Pablo, Escuela Tecnica Superior de Arquitectura – Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Fachhochschule Düsseldorf, Hochschule Bremen – Fakultät Architektur, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie Fakultät für Architektur, Norges Teknisk-Naturviten Skapelige Universitet Oslo, Arkitektur- og designhøgskolen i Oslo, Panepistímio Patrón, Politecnico di Milano Scuola di Architettura e Società, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Rice University, Technische Universität München, Tongji University, Tsinghua University, Unitec Institute of Technology, Universidade da Coruña, Universidad do Porto, Universidad Pontificia de Salamanca, Universidad Tecnologica Equinoccial, University College Dublin, Università IUAV di Venezia, Università degli Studi di Camerino, Università degli Studi di Trento, Università degli Studi Gabriele d’Annunzio di Chieti- Pescara, Università degli Studi di Enna “Kore”, University of California Berkeley, University of Greenwich, Univerza v Ljubljani
3.      Aga Khan Development Network
Geneva, Switzerland
4.      Francisco Aires Mateus
Manuel Aires Mateus
Aires Mateus
Lisbon, Portugal
5.      Alejandro Aravena
Santiago, Chile
6.      Annette Gigon
Mike Guyer
Gigon/Guyer Architekten
Zurich, Switzerland
7.      Constantin Petcou
Doina Petrescu
Atelier d'Architecture Autogérée
Paris, France
8.      Peter Zumthor
Atelier Zumthor
Haldenstein, Switzerland
with Wim Wenders
9.      Group:
Jean Nouvel
Ateliers Jean Nouvel
Paris, France
Mia Hägg
Habiter Autrement
Paris, France
10.    Bernard Tschumi
Bernard Tschumi Architects
New York, USA
Paris, France
11.    Robert Burghardt
Berlin, Germany
12.    Alberto Campo Baeza
Estudio Arquitectura Campo Baeza
Madrid, Spain
13.    Adam Caruso
Peter St. John
Caruso St. John Architects
London, UK
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Märkli Architekt
Zurich, Switzerland
Knapkiewicz Fickert
Zurich, Switzerland
hild und k.
Munich, Germany
Hermann Czech
Vienna, Austria
Antwerp, Belgium
14.    Günther Vogt
Case Studio VOGT
Zurich, Switzerland
ETH Zürich
Zurich, Switzerland
15.    Cino Zucchi
Cino Zucchi Architetti
Milan, Italy
16.    Alison Crawshaw  
London, UK
with SMU research
17.    Ewout Dorman
Annuska Pronkhorst
Michelle Provoost
Simone Rots
Wouter Vanstiphout
Cassandra Wilkins
Crimson Architectural Historians
Rotterdam, The Netherlands