La Biennale di Venezia

Your are here


PMCE Parco della Musica Contemporanea Ensemble

Buy ticket

Elliott Carter (1908-2012)


Dialogues (2003) for piano solo and a large ensemble
Lucio Perotti - piano solo

Luimen (1997) for six instruments
Andrea Di Mario - trumpet
Eugenio Renzetti - trombone
Pietro Pompei - vibraphone
Sonia Maurer - mandolin
Luca Nostro - guitar
Lucia Bova - harp

Oboe Concerto (1986-87) for oboe solo, concertino group and orchestra
Fabio Bagnoli - oboe solo

Concertino: Luca Sanzò, Alessio Toro, Camilla Insom, Matteo Rocchi - violas
Alessandro Di Giulio, Flavio Tanzi - percussion


PMCE Parco della Musica Contemporanea Ensemble
Tonino Battista - Conductor


Elliott Carter on his music: «Dialogues for piano and orchestra is a conversation between the soloist and the orchestra: responding to each other, sometimes interrupting the other, or arguing. The single varied movement is entirely derived from a small group of harmonies and rhythms».

«For a number of years I had been thinking of writing a piece based on the sound of plucked instruments like the mandolin, guitar, and harp to which I added trumpet, trombone and vibraphone and composed a one movement fantasy whose title Luimen was chosen by the Nieuw Ensemble (meaning ‘moods’)».

«In this Oboe Concerto, which is in one continuous movement, the soloist is accompanied in its widely varying, mercurial moods by a percussionist and four violas. The main orchestra opposes their flighty changes with a more regular series of ideas, usually on the serious side, sometimes bursting out dramatically. Each of the two groups use different musical materials which they develop throughout the work».

Teatro alle Tese

CAMPIELLO TANA 2169/F, 30122 
TEL  +39 0415218711

Discover the venue

See on Google Maps

You could also be interested in

Share this page on

Biennale Musica
Biennale Musica