la Biennale di Venezia
Main Visual Sezione STORIA EN


The awards of the Venice Film Festival

Golden Lions for Best Film and major awards since 1934

2016: Ang babaeng humayo (The Woman Who Left) (Philippines) by Lav Diaz
2015: Desde allá (Venezuela, Mexico) by Lorenzo Vigas
2014: En duva satt på en gren och funderade på tillvaron (A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence) (Sweden, Germany, Norway, France) by Roy Andersson
2013: Sacro GRA (Italy, France) by Gianfranco Rosi
2012: Pieta (Republic of Korea) by Kim Ki-duk
2011: Faust (Russia) by Aleksander Sokurov
2010: Somewhere (USA) by Sofia Coppola
2009: Lebanon (Israel, France, Germany) by Samuel Maoz
2008: The Wrestler (USA) by Darren Aronofsky
2007: Se, jie (Lust, Caution) (USA/China/Taiwan) by Ang Lee
2006: Sanxia haoren (Still Life) (China) by Jia Zhangke
2005: Brokeback Mountain (USA) by Ang Lee
2004: Vera Drake (UK) by Mike Leigh
2003: Vozvrashcheniye (The Return) (Russia) by Andrei Zvyagintsev
2002: The Magdalene Sisters (UK) by Peter Mullan
2001: Monsoon Wedding (India) by Mira Nair
2000: Dayereh (Iran) by Jafar Panahi
1999: Not One Less (China) by Zhang Yimou
1998: Così ridevano (Italy) by Gianni Amelio
1997: Hana-bi (Japan) by Takeshi Kitano
1996: Michael Collins (Ireland) by Neil Jordan
1995: Cyclo (Vietnam) by Tran Ahn Hung
1994: Before the Rain by Milcho Manchevski (Republic of Macedonia) and Aiqing wansui - Vive l’amour by Tsai Ming-liang (China), joint winners
1993: Short Cuts by Robert Altman (USA) and Trois couleurs. Bleu by Krzysztof Kieslowski (France), joint winners
1992: Qui Ju da guansi (The Story of Qiu Ju) by Zhang Yimou (China)
1991: Urga by Nikita Mikhalkov (URSS)
1990: Rosencrantz and Guildestern are dead by Tom Stoppard (UK)
1989: Beiqing shenghsi (A City of Sadness) by Hou Xiaoxian (Taiwan)
1988: La leggenda del santo bevitore by Ermanno Olmi (Italy)
1987: Au revoir les enfants by Louis Malle (France)
1986: Le rayon vert by Eric Rohmer (France)
1985: Sans toit ni loi by Agnès Varda (France)
1984: Rok Spokojnego Slonca (The Year of the Quiet Sun) by Krzysztof Zanussi (Poland)
1983: Prénom Carmen by Jean-Luc Godard (France)
1982: Der Stand der Dinge (The State of Things) by Wim Wenders (West Germany)
1981: Die Bleierne Zeit (The German Sisters) by Margarethe von Trotta (West Germany)
1980: Atlantic City by Louis Malle (Canada) and Gloria by John Cassavetes (Usa), joint winners

1969-1979: awards not assigned
1968: Die Artisten in der Zirkuskuppel: ratlos (West Germany) by Alexander Kluge
1967: Belle de jour (France) by Luis Buñuel
1966: La battaglia di Algeri by Gillo Pontecorvo
1965: Vaghe stelle dell'Orsa by Luchino Visconti
1964: Deserto rosso by Michelangelo Antonioni
1963: Le mani sulla città by Francesco Rosi
1962: Ivanovo detstvo (URSS) by Andrej Tarkovskij and Cronaca familiare by Valerio Zurlini
1961: L'année dernière à Marienbad (France) by Alain Resnais
1960: Le passage du Rhin (France) by André Cayatte
1959: Il generale Della Rovere by Roberto Rossellini and La grande guerra by Mario Monicelli (joint winners)
1958: Muhô-Matsu no Isshô (Japan) by Hiroshi Inagaki
1957: Aparajito (India) by Satyajit Ray
1956: Golden Lion of San Marco not assigned
1955: Ordet (Denmark) by Carl Theodor Dreyer
1954: Romeo and Juliet (UK) by Renato Castellani
1953: Golden Lion of San Marco not assigned
1952: Jeux interdits (France) by René Clément
1951: Rashô-mon (Japan) by Akira Kurosawa
1950: Justice est faite (France) by André Cayatte (Golden Lion of San Marco)
1949: Manon (France) by Henry-Georges Clouzot (Golden Lion of San Marco, Gran Premio Internazionale di Venezia)
1948: Hamlet (UK) by Laurence Olivier (Gran Premio Internazionale di Venezia)
1947: Sirena (Czechoslovakia) by Karel Stekly (Gran Premio Internazionale di Venezia)
1946: The Southerner (Usa) by Jean Renoir (Best film for  the press commission)

1942: Bengasi by Augusto Genina (Coppa Mussolini for the best Italian film); Der Grosse König (Germany) di Veit Harlan
1941: La corona di ferro by Alessandro Blasetti (Coppa Mussolini for the best Italian film); Ohm Krüger (Germany) by Hans Steinhoff (Coppa Mussolini for the best foreign film)
1940: L'assedio dell'Alcazar by Augusto Genina (Coppa Mussolini for the best Italian film); Der Postmeister (Germany) by Gustav Ucicky (Coppa Mussolini for the best foreign film)
1939: Abuna Messias by Goffredo Alessandrini (Coppa Mussolini for the best film)
1938: Luciano Serra pilota by Goffredo Alessandrini and Olympia (Germany) by Leni Riefenstahl (Coppa Mussolini for the best film joint winners)
1937: Scipione l'africano by Carmine Gallone (Coppa Mussolini for the best Italian film); Un carnet de bal (France) by Julien Duvivier (Award for the best foreign film)
1936: Squadrone bianco by Augusto Genina (Coppa Mussolini for the best Italian film); Der Kaiser von Kalifornien (Germania) by Luis Trenker (Award for the best foreign film)
1935: Casta Diva by Carmine Gallone (Coppa Mussolini for the best Italian film); Anna Karenina (Usa) by Clarence Brown (Award for the best foreign film)
1934: Teresa Confalonieri by Guido Brignone (Coppa Mussolini for the best Italian film); Man of Aran (UK) by Robert Flaherty (Award for the best foreign film)

70 Directors for Venice 70