Questo sito usa cookie tecnici e cookie di profilazione, anche di terze parti, al fine di rendere più rapido e migliore il suo utilizzo e per inviarti messaggi pubblicitari in linea con le preferenze da te manifestate durante la navigazione.
Se vuoi saperne di più o modificare le impostazioni del tuo browser relativamente ai cookies, fino ad eventualmente escluderne l’installazione, premi qui.
Proseguendo la navigazione acconsenti all'uso dei cookie.

RSS YouTube Flickr Twitter Facebook Instagram
la Biennale di Venezia
Main Visual Sezione STORIA EN


70 Directors for Venice 70

All sections »

Born in China in 1970, in the Shanxi province. After studying at the Beijing Film Academy, in 1997 he made his debut with the independent 16-mm film Xiao Wu, which won him the Wolfgang Prize and the Netpac Award in the Forum of the Berlin Film Festival. He won international fame thanks to his many participations at the Venice Film Festival: he was in Competition in 2000 with his second feature-length film Zhantai (Platform), in 2004 with Shijie (The World) and in 2006 with Sanxia Haoren (Still Life), for which he won the Golden Lion. The following year, again at the Venice Film Festival, his film Wuyong (Useless) won the Best Documentary Award in the Orizzonti section. He is one of the most valued directors at the major international festivals: he was in competition at Cannes in 2002 with Ren xiao yao (Unknown Pleasures),  in 2008 with Er shi si cheng ji (24 City), in 2013 with Tian zhu ding (A Touch of Sin, Best Screenplay Award) and in 2010 he participated in the Un Certain Regard section with Hai shang chuang qi (I Wish I Knew). The same year Jia Zhang-Ke won the Leopard of Honour at the 63rd Locarno Film Festival: he is the youngest filmmaker to have ever earned this acknowledgment.
2000 - Zhantai (Platform) – In Competition (screenplay, director)
2001 – Gong gong chang suo (In Public) – Nuovi Territori section (screenplay, cinematography, director)
2004 - Shijie (The World) – In Competition (screenplay, director)
2006 - Sanxia Haoren (Still Life) – In Competition (cinematography, screenplay, director)
2006 – Dong (East, Orient) – Orizzonti section (screenplay, director)
2007 - Wuyong (Useless) – Orizzonti section (screenplay, cinematography, director)
2008 – Heshang Aiqing – Short Film Out of Competition (screenplay, director)

2006 – Golden Lion - Sanxia Haoren (Still Life)
2007 – Best Documentary Award in the Orizzonti section - Wuyong (Useless)

2011 - President of the Orizzonti Jury


70 Directors for Venice 70