la Biennale di Venezia
Main Visual Sezione STORIA EN


70 Directors for Venice 70

All sections »

Born in Caserta in 1976, he made his directorial debut in 2003 with the short films Carta and Scampia. The following year, Il Cantiere won the Festival Libero Bizzarri. In 2005, La baracca (The Hovel) won the Audience Award at Videopolis. His first participation at the Venice Film Festival, in the Orizzonti section, immediately won an important acknowledgment: the documentary film Il Passaggio della linea (Crossing the Line, 2007), in which he collected stories, landscapes and faces on the long-distance trains that travel across Italy every night, won the Premio Pasinetti (and the Special Mention at the Premio Doc/It). His next film La Bocca del Lupo (The Mouth of the Wolf, 2009) collected a series of awards: it won the Turin Film Festival and, in 2010, the Caligari award of the Forum section and the Teddy Award for Best Documentary at the Berlin Film Festival, several David di Donatello and the Silver Ribbon, the International Jury Prize at the Cinéma du Réel, the International Jury Prize at the Buenos Aires Film Festival. In 2011 he returned to the Venice Film Festival with two documentary-tributes to the great masters of cinema: Il silenzio di Palešjan (The Silence of Peleshyan), presented in the Orizzonti section, about Armenian filmmaker Artavazd Peleshyan, and Marco Bellocchio, Venezia 2011, a journey through Bellocchio’s cinema on the occasion of the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement.
2007 – Il passaggio della linea (Crossing the Line) – Orizzonti section (screenplay, director)
2011 - Il silenzio di Palešjan (The Silence of Peleshyan) – Orizzonti section (screenplay, director)

2007 – Il passaggio della linea (Crossing the Line) – Pasinetti Award

2010 – Orizzonti section


70 Directors for Venice 70