fbpx Biennale Cinema 2022 | Julianne Moore President of the Venezia 79 International Jury
La Biennale di Venezia

Your are here

Julianne Moore President of the Venezia 79 International Jury
Cinema -

Julianne Moore President of the Venezia 79 International Jury

Jury members also include Mariano Cohn, Leonardo Di Costanzo, Audrey Diwan, Leila Hatami, Kazuo Ishiguro, and Rodrigo Sorogoyen.

The Venezia 79 International Jury

American actress Julianne Moore will be the president of the International Jury of the Competition at the 79th Venice International Film Festival (August 31 – September 10, 2022), which will assign the Golden Lion for Best Film, as well as other official awards.

Academy Award (Still Alice, 2014) and Emmy winner Julianne Moore is known for her breadth of work with many memorable performances from the big to the small screen. Julianne Moore is an Academy Award, BAFTA and Emmy winning actress, and the first American woman to be awarded top acting prizes at the Berlin (The Hours, 2002), Venice (Far from Heaven, 2002) and Cannes film festivals (Maps to the Stars, 2014).

Julianne Moore will chair the International Jury for the Venezia 79 Competition, whose members also include:

Mariano Cohn (Argentina) director, screenwriter and producer
Leonardo Di Costanzo (Italy) director and screenwriter
Audrey Diwan (France), director
Leila Hatami (Iran) actress
Kazuo Ishiguro (Japan-Great Britain) author and screenwriter
Rodrigo Sorogoyen (Spain) director, screenwriter and producer

The decision was made by the board of La Biennale di Venezia, which embraced the proposal of the Festival's Director, Alberto Barbera.

The Jury of Venezia 79 will award the following official prizes to the feature films in Competition:  Golden Lion for Best Film, Silver Lion - Grand Jury Prize, Silver Lion for Best Director, Coppa Volpi for Best Actress, Coppa Volpi for Best Actor, Special Jury Prize, Award for Best Screenplay, “Marcello Mastroianni” Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress.

Biographical notes

Academy Award and Emmy winner Julianne Moore is known for her breadth of work with many memorable performances from the big to the small screen. Julianne Moore is an Academy Award, BAFTA and Emmy winning actor, and the first American woman to be awarded top acting prizes at the Berlin, Venice and Cannes film festivals. Most recently, Moore starred in the A24's When You Finish Saving The World, directed by Jesse Eisenberg and premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. In 2021, she starred in Apple TV+'s Lisey's Story, based on the Stephen King novel, and Dear Evan Hansen opposite Ben Platt. Moore can next be seen in A24’s Sharper starring alongside Sebastian Stan and John Lithgow. In 2015, Moore won an Academy Award, Golden Globe, BAFTA and SAG Award, among others for her role in Still Alice with Kristen Stewart, Alec Baldwin and Kate Bosworth. In 2014, she received the Palme D’Or, Best Actress at the Cannes Film Festival for her work in Maps to the Stars. Moore is the ninth person in Academy history to receive two acting Oscar nominations in the same year for her performances in Far from Heaven (Best Actress nomination) and The Hours (Best Supporting Actress nomination), after receiving many critics’ awards as well as SAG and Golden Globe nominations for both. In 2012, she won the Primetime Emmy award for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or a Movie for her role as Alaska Governor Sarah Palin in the HBO original movie Game Change. This role also garnered wins at the 2013 SAG Awards and Golden Globe Awards. Her additional honors include the Excellence in Media Award at the 2004 GLAAD Media Awards, the Silver Bear Award at the 2003 Berlin International Film Festival, the 2002 Coppa Volpi as Best Actress at the Venice International Film Festival, the Actor Award at the 2002 Gotham Awards and the “Tribute to Independent Vision” at the 2001 Sundance Film Festival. Moore’s has starred in over 70 films including: Gloria Bell (also credited as Executive Producer), The GloriasAfter the WeddingKingsman: The Golden CircleHunger Games: Mockingjay 1 & 2Crazy, Stupid, LoveThe Kids Are All RightA Single Man; The Forgotten; and The Big Lebowski. Julianne is a NY Times bestselling author for her children’s book series Freckleface Strawberry. In 2015, she became Founding Chair of the Everytown for Gun Safety Creative Council, a creative community established to help amplify the movement to end gun violence in America.


Mariano Cohn (Argentina) is a film director, screenwriter and producer. He has made ten feature films - including The Man Next Door, The Distinguished Citizen and 4x4 - that premiered at the most important film festivals in the world and received numerous international awards. His most recent film is Official Competition with Penélope Cruz, Antonio Banderas and Oscar Martínez in the leading roles, which premiered during the Venice Film Festival last year.


Leonardo Di Costanzo (Italy), director and screenwriter. In 2013 he won the David di Donatello award as best debut director for The Interval – L’intervallo, presented in 2012 in the Orizzonti section of the Venice Film Festival. In 2013, he was a member of the Orizzonti jury in Venice. The Inner Cage – Ariaferma (2021), his latest film, was screened out of Competition in Venice and won a David di Donatello award for best screenplay and best leading actor for Silvio Orlando.


Audrey Diwan (France) filmmaker and author, is also a screenwriter and has collaborated with Cédric Jimenez, Gilles Lellouche and Valérie Donzelli, among others. Diwan made her feature film directing debut with Mais vous êtes fous, starring Cèline Sallette and Pio Marmaï. Her latest film, Happening – L'évènement, won the Golden Lion in Venice in 2021.


Leila Hatami (Iran), is an actress born in Tehran. She gained world recognition in Asghar Farhadi's A Separation which won her the Silver Bear in Berlinale 65. Since then, she has had a noted performance in The Last Step for which she won the best actress award at the Karlovy Vary Festival in 2012. In 2014,  she was a member of the jury at Cannes.


Kazuo Ishiguro (Japan, UK), is a Nobel Prize winning novelist and screenwriter. Born in Nagasaki, Japan in 1954, he moved to Britain with his parents when he was five years old. His books, translated into over fifty languages, have earned him many honours around the world, and The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go were adapted into acclaimed films.


Rodrigo Sorogoyen (Spain), is a director, screenwriter and producer. His short film Madre  was nominated for an Academy Award in 2019, while his feature film The Candidate won seven Goya awards in 2019. That same year he presented his second film Mother in Orizzonti, which won the best actress award for Marta Nieto.