fbpx Biennale Architettura 2021 | Rafi Segal; Sarah Williams
La Biennale di Venezia

Your are here

Rafi Segal; Sarah Williams

Open Collectives: Architecture for an Equitable Digital Economy

  • TUE - SUN
    22/05 > 31/07
    11 AM - 7 PM

    01/08 > 21/11
    10 AM - 6 PM
  • Arsenale
  • Admission with ticket

Rafi Segal (Israeli/American, b.1967) of Future Urban Collective Lab (USA, est.2019) at MIT (USA, est.1861) and Sarah Williams (American, b.1974) of Civic Data Design Lab (USA, est.2012) at MIT, in collaboration with Greg Lindsay (American, b.1977), Marisa Moran Jahn (American,b.1977) of Studio REV-(USA, est.2000)



Open Collectives is an immersive installation showcasing urban and architectural projects designed for new cooperatives, along with an online Open Collectives platform. Video and printed materials offer new perspectives on timely contemporary issues — the future of work, reputational economy, solidarity building, co-living, elderboom and the care crisis — while the platform will ask visitors to share their ideas, experience, and knowledge extending the Exhibition’s reach beyond Venice and past 2021.

Biennale Sneak Peek

Image 1 – How will we live together?
Open Collectives StationOpen Collectives Station design: a continuous surface transforms a wide collective bench into a semi-open room as a space of meeting and display for the open collective film and projects.


Image 2 – Sneak peek of the project
Open Collectives Digital Archive
. An interactive digital archive analyzes historic examples of ‘collectives’ through degrees and dimensions of economics, size, porosity, platform and governance.


Future Urban Collectives Lab, MIT
Civic Data Design Lab, MIT

Production credits

Open Collectives Installation Design: Rafi Segal A+U (Lead), Alina Nazmeeva
Open Collectives Digital Platform: Civic Data Design Lab - Sarah Williams (Lead), Ashley Louie, Dylan Halprin, Prabhakar Kafle, Alina Nazmeeva, Angela Wang
Open Collectives Film: Directed and Edited by Marisa Morán Jahn, Music by John Eric Steiner
Research Team: Kelly Leilani Main, David Birge, Sarah Rege, Ana Paula Arenas, Adiel Alexis Benitez, Matt Bradford, Jonathon Brearley, Laura Cadena, Sydney Cinalli, Max Drake, Nisha E. Devasia, Darla Earl, Emelie A. Eldracher, Livia Foldes, Gabriela Romero Garibay, Charvi Gopal, Fiel Guhit, Dylan Halpern, Samuel H. Ihns, Effie Jia, Mengfu Kuo, Sheng-Hung Lee, Clare Liu, John Liu, Lesley Onstott, John Rao, Viviana Rivera, Carol-Anne Rodrigues, Vaidehi Supatkar, Evellyn Tan, Yegor Vlasenko,

Share this page on

Share on FacebookShare on XShare on LinkedINSend via WhatsApp
Biennale Architettura
Biennale Architettura