fbpx Biennale Musica 2023 | Andrea Gabrieli / Claudio Merulo / Giovanni Gabrieli
La Biennale di Venezia

Your are here


Andrea Gabrieli / Claudio Merulo / Giovanni Gabrieli

The organ as a generator of sound flows, complex harmonies and polyphonic continua will be the point of contact between the compositional experimentation in the organ works of Claudio Merulo, Andrea Gabrieli, Giovanni Gabrieli and Girolamo Frescobaldi, published in Venice at the turn of the seventeenth century, and the contemporary experiments.


ANDREA GABRIELI:Cantate Domino A 5, from Terzo libro dei ricercari (1596); Ricercar arioso, from Canzoni et ricercari ariosi (1605); Toccata del nono tono, from Intonationi d'organo (1593); Fantasia allegra del duodecimo tono, from Terzo libro dei ricercari (1596); Canzon francese detta petit jacquet, from Canzoni alla francese (1605)
CLAUDIO MERULO:Toccata settima, from Toccate d'intavolatura d'organo (1597); Ricercar del quarto tono, from Ricercari d'intavolatura d'organo (1507); Canzon À 4, dita "La benvenuta", from Canzoni d'intavolatura d'organo, libro primo (1592)
GIOVANNI GABRIELI:Toccata del secondo tono C. 236 (1593); Canzon A 4 C. 231; Ricercare del decimo tono C. 216, from Ricercari (1595); Jubilate Deo A 8 C. 16, from Sacrae Symphoniae (1597)
Organ:Luca Scandali
Thanks to:Parrocchia di San Salvador
Read more about the performance
Church of San Salvador
Discover the venue

See on Google Maps

Share this page on

Share on FacebookShare on XShare on LinkedINSend via WhatsApp
Biennale Musica
Biennale Musica