fbpx Biennale Cinema 2019 | International Juries of the 76th Venice Film Festival
La Biennale di Venezia

Your are here

International Juries of the 76th Venice Film Festival
Cinema -

International Juries of the 76th Venice Film Festival

Five international juries will assign the official awards. The Awards Ceremony is to be held on 7th September at 7 pm.

The international juries

In the International Jury of the Venezia 76 Competition, Canadian director Mary Harron, initially invited to serve on the Orizzonti Jury, will replace Australian director Jennifer Kent, who cannot make it to Venice.
In the Orizzonti Jury, Mary Harron will be replaced by Uruguayan director Álvaro Brechner.

The following is the definitive composition of the Juries of the 76th Venice Film Festival:


Venezia 76

  • Lucrecia Martel - President (Argentina), director
  • Piers Handling (Canada), historian and critic
  • Mary Harron (Canada), director
  • Stacy Martin (UK), actress
  • Rodrigo Prieto (Mexico), director of photography
  • Tsukamoto Shinya (Japan), director
  • Paolo Virzì (Italy), director



  • Susanna Nicchiarelli - President (Italy), director
  • Mark Adams (UK), artistic director
  • Rachid Bouchareb (France), director
  • Álvaro Brechner (Uruguay), director
  • Eva Sangiorgi (Italy), artistic director


“Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film – Lion of the Future

  • Emir Kusturica - President (Serbia), director
  • Antonietta De Lillo (Italy), director
  • Terence Nance (USA), director
  • Hend Sabry (Tunisia), actress
  • Michael J. Werner (Hong Kong, USA), producer


Venice Virtual Reality

  • Laurie Anderson - President (USA), composer, artist, director
  • Francesco Carrozzini (Italy), photographer
  • Alysha Naples (Italy), designer


Venezia Classici

  • Costanza Quatriglio (Italy), director

Share this page on