fbpx Biennale Cinema 2020 | The Duke
La Biennale di Venezia

Your are here

Cinema

The Duke

Out of Competition

Director:
Roger Michell
Production:
Neon Films (Nicky Bentham)
Running Time:
96’
Language:
English
Country:
United Kingdom
Main Cast:
Jim Broadbent, Helen Mirren, Fionn Whitehead, Matthew Goode, Anna Maxwell Martin
Screenplay:
Richard Bean, Clive Coleman
Cinematographer:
Mike Eley
Editor:
Kristina Hetherington
Production Designer:
Kristian Milsted
Costume Designer:
Dinah Collin
Music:
George Fenton
Sound:
Denny Sheehan
Visual Effects:
Automatik VFX

SYNOPSIS

In 1961, Kempton Bunton, a 60-year old taxi driver, stole Francisco Goya’s portrait of the Duke of Wellington from the National Gallery in London. It was the first (and remains the only) theft in the Gallery’s history. Kempton sent ransom notes saying that he would return the painting on condition that the government invested more in care for the elderly – he had long campaigned for pensioners to receive free television. What happened next became the stuff of legend. Only fifty years later did the full story emerge – Kempton had spun a web of lies. The only truth was that he was a good man, determined to change the world and save his marriage – how and why he used the Duke to achieve that is a wonderfully uplifting tale.

DIRECTOR'S STATEMENT

The Duke, in the great tradition of Ealing Comedies, shows a small man speaking truth to power. It is a serious story not to be taken too seriously.

PRODUCERS/DISTRIBUTORS

PRODUCTION: Nicky Bentham - Neon Films
215-221 Borough High Street
SE1 1JA – London, United Kingdom
nicky@neon-films.co.uk

WORLD SALES: Marie-Laure Montironi - Pathe International
2, rue Lamennais
75008 – Paris, France
Tel. +33 1 71 72 33 05
info@patheinternational.com
http://www.patheinternational.com

ITALIAN DISTRIBUTION: Antonio Medici – BIM Distribuzione
Via Lorenzo Magalotti 15
00197 – Roma, Italy
Tel. +39 6 3231057

ITALIAN PRESS OFFICE: Alessandro Russo, Federico Biagioni, Federica Aliano - US Ufficio Stampa
+ 39 349 3127219 (Alessandro)
+39 320 7440489 (Federico)
+39 393 9435664 (Federica)
Alerusso@alerusso.it
Digital@us-ufficiostampa.it
Segreteria@us-ufficiostampa.it

DISTRIBUTION PRESS OFFICE: Scarnati Federica – BIM
Via Lorenzo Magalotti 15
00197 – Roma, Italy
Tel. +39 6 3231057
fscarnati@bimfilm.com

PRESS OFFICE: Sophie Glover – Pathe UK
6 Ramillies Street
W1F 7TY – London, United Kingdom
Tel. +44 07917045875
sophie.glover@pathe-uk.com
Emma Eliades
+44 7802 466 887
Emma.eliades@premiercomms.com
Ellen Steers
+44 7718 575 633
Ellen.steers@premiercomms.com


Share this page on

Biennale Cinema
Biennale Cinema