fbpx Biennale Cinema 2020 | Greta
La Biennale di Venezia

Your are here

Cinema

Greta

Out of Competition

Director:
Nathan Grossman
Production:
BR·F (Cecilia Nessen, Fredrik Heinig)
Running Time:
98’
Language:
Swedish, English
Country:
Sweden
Main Cast:
Greta Thunberg
Cinematographer:
Nathan Grossman
Editor:
Hanna Lejonqvist, Charlotte Landelius
Music:
Jon Ekstrand and Rebekka Karijord
Sound:
Johan Johnson, Andreas Franck

SYNOPSIS

In August of 2018, Greta Thunberg, a 15-year-old student in Sweden, starts a school strike for the climate. Her question for adults: if you don’t care about her future on Earth, why should she care about her future in school? Within months, her strike evolves into a global movement. Greta, a quiet Swedish girl on the autism spectrum, is now a world famous activist. The team behind Greta has been following the young activist from her very first day of school strike.

DIRECTOR'S STATEMENT

When I first met Greta in windy Riksgatan in Sweden, she talked to me and the people passing by with a weak stuttering voice. I was as surprised to learn that she was an activist, as I was taken by her powerful words. Pointing out how for decades we had done little to address the fact that our society uses the resources of several planets but only has one. Greta talked about climate change and the environment in such a logical way and I instantly felt that I wanted to get into that mindset. I sat myself down with a will to make the camera perceive the world as she did, creating a story about her world. I thought it could be something small, maybe a coming of age story for the Swedish election? I was so wrong.

PRODUCERS/DISTRIBUTORS

PRODUCTION: Cecilia Nessen, Fredrik Heinig - BR.F
TJÄRHOVSGATAN
116 21 – Stockholm, Sweden
Tel. +46 8 50 52 48 50
sthlm@brf.co
cecilia.nessen@brf.co

WORLD SALES: Ana Vicente – Dogwoof
19-23 Ironmonger Row
EC1V3QN – London, United Kingdom
Tel. +44 2072536244
ana@dogwoof.com
http://www.dogwoofsales.com

ITALIAN DISTRIBUTION: Frida Romano, Letizia Geron – Koch Media
Via Ripamonti 89
20141 – Milano, Italy
Tel +39 02 573 742 0
f.romano@kochmedia.com
l.geron@kochmedia.com
http://www.kochmedia.com

ITALIAN PRESS OFFICE: Giosafatte Lorusso – Koch Media
Via Ripamonti 89
20141 – Milano, Italy
Tel +39 02 573 742 0
g.lorusso@kochmedia.com
http://www.kochmedia.com

PRESS OFFICE: Claudia Tomassini + associates
Tel. +49 1732055794
claudia@claudiatomassini.com
www.claudiatomassini.com
MANZOPICCIRILLO
info@manzopiccirillo.com

USA PRESS OFFICE:
Layla Hancock-Piper - Cinetic Media
layla@cineticmedia.com
Julie Chappell - Cinetic Media
julie@cineticmedia.com


Share this page on

Biennale Cinema
Biennale Cinema